Impulse 66: Behind the scenes

Carnegie Hero Fund Commission gathers for 117th annual meeting

117th annual meeting

Commissioners pose for a photo taken at a luncheon at the Duquesne Club before the 117th annual meeting on June 16. In additional to usual Commission business, the meeting included the annual election of officers for the coming year, which included Mark Laskow as board chair; Nancy Rackoff as vice board chair; Dan D. Sandman as board treasurer; Sybil Veeder as Executive Committee chair; and Thomas L. Wentling, Jr., as Executive Committee vice chair as well as Audit and Finance committees chair.

Two commissioners receive resolutions for decades of service

behind the scenesTwo service anniversaries were also celebrated at the annual meeting. Left: Executive Committee Vice Chair Thomas L. Wentling, left, shows his framed resolution with Board Chair Mark Laskow. Wentling was elected to the board in 1991, and more than 2,700 Carnegie heroes have been awarded the Carnegie Medal during his 30 years of service. He also serves as chair of the Finance and Audit committees.






behind the scenesDavid McL. Hillman, left, poses with Laskow with the resolution he received for his 25 years of service. Hillman was elected to the board in 1996, and has overseen the awarding of more than 2,200 Carnegie heroes. The resolutions laud board members for their “success in effecting the charitable purposes ascribed to it by Andrew Carnegie” due to “the selfless participation and skill of its members.”