Nine philanthropists named recipients of the 2017 Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy

The Carnegie Corporation of New York, on behalf of the international family of Carnegie institutions, named nine philanthropists as recipients of the Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy recently.  The awards will be presented in October 2017.

According to the Carnegie Corporation of New York, the medals are in recognition of outstanding and innovative leadership in philanthropy and celebrating Andrew Carnegie’s philanthropic ideals in addressing a range of important issues including social entrepreneurship, nuclear nonproliferation, career training, medical research, the arts, culture, school reform in India, women’s rights in China, and land conservation in South America.

The 2017 honorees are:

  • Mei Hing Chak China; HeungKong Charitable Foundation
  • H. F. (Gerry) and Marguerite Lenfest U.S.A.; Lenfest Foundation
  • Azim Premji India; Azim Premji Foundation
  • Julian Robertson U.S.A.; Robertson Foundation
  • Jeff Skoll U.S.A.; Skoll Foundation
  • Kristine McDivitt Tompkins U.S.A.; Tompkins Conservation
  • Shelby White U.S.A.; Leon Levy Foundation
  • Sir James D. Wolfensohn U.S.A. and Australia; Wolfensohn Center for Development

“The recipients of the 2017 Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy were selected for their distinguished and longstanding contributions to the public good,” said Vartan Gregorian, president of Carnegie Corporation.

“The medal reflects Andrew Carnegie’s enduring legacy of philanthropy and is rooted in two core principles. First: with wealth comes responsibility. Second: individuals, whether guided by religious, civic, humanistic, or democratic aspirations, have the transformative power to use wealth to advance the public good.”

The Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy was established in 2001 and is awarded every two years to individuals whose philanthropic work embodies the ideals of Andrew Carnegie’s vision, serving as a continuous inspiration to others. Having amassed what was then the greatest fortune on earth, the legendary American industrialist decided to give it all away with the stated goal of doing “real and permanent good in this world.”

The 22 Carnegie institutions in the United States and Europe nominate the medalists, and a selection committee representing seven of those institutions makes the final selection. The honorees are recognized as catalysts for good whose philanthropy has had a significant and lasting impact on a particular field, nation, or community of people.

The Carnegie institutions will award the medals during a formal ceremony on October 3, 2017, at The New York Public Library’s Stephen A. Schwarzman Building. Carnegie Corporation of New York will host the private event.

To learn more about the Carnegie Medal of Philanthropy (including current and past honorees, visit

Return to imPULSE index.
See PDF of this issue.